Past HELP Distinguished Scholars

2018—Dr. Sharon Vaughn, University of Texas, Austin

Manuel J. Justiz Endowed Chair in Education and executive director of the Meadows Center for Preventing Educational Risk at the University of Texas. Co-Author: RTI in the Common Core Classroom—A Framework for Instruction and Assessment. Topic: Meeting literacy standards for all students, including those with dyslexia and other reading difficulties

2017—Dr. Barbara Foorman, Florida State University

Professor of Education at Florida State University and Director Emeritus of the Florida Center for Reading Research. Editor: The Challenges of Implementing Effective Reading Interventions in Schools. Topic: "Successful Early Literacy Interventions."

2016—Dr. Steven Graham, Arizona State University

Warner Professor in the Division of Leadership and Innovation in Teachers College at Arizona State University. Co-Author: Writing to Read. Topic: "How Writing Can Improve Reading."

2015—Dr. Nonie Lesaux, Harvard University

Academic Dean and  Juliana W. and William Foss Thompson Professor of Education and Society at Harvard Graduate School of Education. Author: Making Assessment Matter. Topic: "Using Test Results to Differentiate Reading Instruction."

2014—Dr. Catherine Snow, Harvard University

Henry Lee Shattuck Professor of Education at Harvard Graduate School of Education. Editor: Knowledge to Support the Teaching of Reading. Topic: "What Happens When Reading Breaks Down?"

2013—Dr. Maryanne Wolf, Tufts University

John DiBiaggio Professor of Citizenship and Public Service;  Director of the Center for Reading and Language Research; and Professor in the Eliot-Pearson Department of Child Study and Human Development, Tufts University. Author: Proust and the Squid. Topic:"The Science of the Reading Brain."